Home > stash > Starting a quilting stash

Starting a quilting stash

Quilting is something I’ve wanted to learn how to do for a long time, but also for a long time, I didn’t have the money to get supplies. Needles and thread can be cheap, but the actual material can get pricey. Sometimes local second-hand stores would have bags of fat quarters for a decent price, but usually when I didn’t have any money to spend on them.

But seeing as how my birthday is coming up, I decided to treat myself to a little something.

IMG_1600

Each pack holds five pieces of material, and were only $1.50 each. I bought all seven of them that were on the store shelf!

They individual pieces aren’t a bad size, either.

IMG_1603

Average-sized paperback book thrown in for size comparison.

So with 35 pieces that size, and considering I spent only a little over $10 for all of them together, I figure that’s a good start-up for learning how to quilt. I’ll probably start with something simple, just a block quilt, because as with anything, I know I’m going to make mistakes in the beginning, and I don’t want to make something very complicated and just increase the amount of mistakes I’ll make.

Categories: stash
  1. bagladyinstitches
    June 5, 2011 at 4:39 PM

    Well done for finding such a treasure trove and good luck with your quilting projects. I have a hankering to do patchwork and I have a couple of magazines to give me some tips and ideas. But I’m a bit disorganized at present!

    You probably already know this site: http://freebiesforcrafters.blogspot.com/, it has a lot on quilting as far as I can see.

    My birthday’s coming up too but I’ll be celebrating/forgetting with a bottle of the cheap sparkling wine that they do here – delicious!

    Take care, Michèle

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

