Home > cooking > A new batch of jam

A new batch of jam

Ever since I decided to learn to make jam, I can’t seem to get enough of it. It’s an easy thing to do, thankfully, and it’s a useful skill to have. I like to buy food as cheaply as I can while still maintaining quality, so when fruit is cheap, I now don’t have to worry quite so much about not eating it all before it goes bad. Whatever I don’t eat can be made into jam.

IMG_1632

This is a batch of blackberry-raspberry jam. I actually made three jars of this, but I gave one of them away as a gift.

So far I’ve been using recipes that don’t involve cooking. These kinds of jams stay good in the fridge for about 3 weeks, or can be frozen for up to 6 months. The difference between this and cooked jams is that cooked jams can stay good for up to a year without refrigeration so long as the jar is sealed properly. But I don’t have any need to store jam for that long, so I haven’t tried a cooked jam recipe yet.

Storebought jam is nice enough, but now that I’ve made it myself, I think I prefer homemade jam. Since all that’s really in it is fruit, pectin, and sugar, you can really taste the fruit, and the more simple flavour is far better than the chemical-laden stuff I can find on grocery store shelves. I think that so long as I can make jam, I will.

Categories: cooking
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

