Home > books > A book of gifts

A book of gifts

IMG_1908

I ordered this book a couple of weeks ago, and was thrilled when it finally arrived on my doorstep. A nice treat to come home to after work!

There are a so many beautiful patterns in this book that I want to try making, from little decorative ornaments to more practical items like bags. Some of the fabrics I got from the yard sale might work perfectly in some projects from this book, especially ones that I don’t plan to use to make a quilt. I’m looking forward to getting some sewing practice here, and making some very beautiful things!

It also happily goes into some of the history and tradition surrounding gift-giving in Japanese culture, which was nice to read. If you’re interested in Japanese gifts, or if you have a lot of fabric scraps and no idea what to do with them all, then take a look at this book if you get the chance. It’s worth it!

Categories: books
  1. September 8, 2011 at 4:45 PM

    It seems interesting. Are you planning to make some gift from this book for the winter holidays (if you celebrate any)?

    • September 8, 2011 at 6:24 PM

      There are a few that I think I’ll make, especially for friends. Sadly, though, there aren’t many people I know who really appreciate handmade gifts. But I can think of a few people who might like some of the things from the books.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

