Home > knitting > Keeping away the chill

Keeping away the chill

The weather’s getting chilly, so I thought it was about time I made myself a new scarf.

IMG_2018

I’m knitting this on US 10.5 needles, out of yarn that I recycled from a thrift store sweater. (Most of my yarn stash has been acquired in this manner.) If I remember correctly, the yarn is a wool/acrylic mix, though I can’t recall in what percentages. Purple is one of my favourite colours, and I think it looks nice in the mistake rib pattern. Perfect for keeping away the cold air, especially when my new job is very close to the harbour’s edge. In the winter, the wind blowing off the ocean can be bitterly cold, and I don’t want to get sick because I was lacking a scarf!

I promise I’ll make more posts than I have been. I’ve been busy with work, and recently my friend’s grandmother died, a woman who in some ways was also like a grandmother to me, which has thrown me off balance. It hasn’t been easy, but I’m trying to get back into the swing of things. So I promise there will be more things to come on this blog than just the silence treatment I’ve been giving it this past week or two.

Categories: knitting
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

